About COGDoing Business with COGHuman ResourcesContact UsSite Map
August 24, 2019
Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
Housing & Planning
Health & Human Services
Homeland Security & Public Safety
Cooperative Purchasing
Information & Publications
Events Calendar
Committee Business
News Room
News Room

Secretary of Transportation Scheduled To Lead Celebrations with Elected Officials and Dignitaries for Bike to Work Day

Washington, D.C. — Dozens of federal, state and local elected officials and dignitaries, including U.S. Secretary of Transportation Anthony Foxx, Virginia State Senator Barbara Favola, Montgomery County Executive Isiah Leggett are scheduled to  show their support for this year’s Bike to Work Day by meeting and greeting cyclists at local Bike to Work Day pit stops on Friday, May 16.  Commuters are expected to leave their cars at home, help reduce traffic congestion, improve air quality, and support a healthier lifestyle by riding their bicycles to work.  To date, more than 16,000 commuters have already registered for the Washington metropolitan region’s annual Bike to Work Day.  

“Bike to Work Day continues to grow each year, and we are pleased to have the support of so many of the Washington metropolitan region’s elected officials and dignitaries,” said Director of Commuter Connections Nicholas Ramfos. “Commuter Connections and the Washington Area Bicyclist Association (WABA) would like to thank all the federal, state and local representatives, as well as private-sector employers, who help make Bike to Work Day a success each year.”
Coordinated by Commuter Connections and WABA, the free Bike to Work Day event attracts participants from around the Washington metropolitan region who are seeking a healthy and fun way to commute to work. This year’s theme is “Get your workout before you get your work in”.  Commuters are asked to register and enjoy bicycling as a healthy and green commute option.

Participants can choose to ride alone, with a friend, neighbor or co-worker, or join one of the 18 confirmed bicycle convoys to be led by experienced cyclists. Pit stops, 79 this year, will feature appearances by elected area officials and dignitaries, refreshments, entertainment, and giveaways.  There are bike-to-transit options and many other program amenities available for a fun, inexpensive and environmentally conscious commute alternative experience.

Those who register by 11:59 p.m. Thursday, May 15, are automatically entered into the Bike to Work Day raffle, with at least six bicycles as grand prizes.  To register and learn more about the event, including pit stop locations, times and rider resources, visit  www.biketoworkmetrodc.org

Elected officials and dignitaries are scheduled to visit the following pit stops:

District of Columbia

Capitol Hill at Eastern Market Metro pit stop
• District of Columbia Councilmember, Tommy Wells
• District of Columbia Ward 6 Councilmember Nominee, Charles Allen

Freedom Plaza pit stop
• U.S. Department of Transportation Secretary, Anthony Foxx
• Rear Admiral and Acting U.S. Surgeon General, Boris Lushniak
• U.S. General Services Administration Administrator, Dan Tangherlini
• D.C. Mayor, Vincent Gray
• D.C. Councilmember, Muriel Bowser
• D.C. Councilmember, Mary Cheh
• D.C. Councilmember, David Grosso
• D.C. Councilmember, Tommy Wells
• District Department of Transportation Interim Director, Matt Brown

NoMa pit stop
• National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board Chair, Patrick Wojahn


Bethesda pit stop
• Maryland State Comptroller, Peter Franchot
• Congressman Chris Van Hollen’s office, Karen McManus
• Maryland State Delegate, Susan Lee
• Maryland State Delegate, Ariana Kelly
• Montgomery County Executive, Isiah Leggett
• Montgomery County Councilmember, George Leventhal
• Montgomery County Councilmember, Nancy Floreen
• Montgomery County Councilmember, Roger Berliner

College Park City Hall pit stop
• City of College Park Mayor, Andrew Fellows
• City of College Park Councilmember, Robert Day
• City of College Park Councilmember, Monroe Dennis
• City of College Park Councilmember, Alan Hew
• City of College Park Councilmember, Fazlul Kabir
• City of College Park Councilmember, Denise Mitchell
• City of College Park Councilmember, Patrick Wojahn
• Maryland State Senator, Jim Rosapepe

Greenbelt pit stop
• City of Greenbelt Mayor, Emmett V. Jordan
• City of Greenbelt Councilmember, Edward VJ Putens

Indian Head pit stop
• Charles County Commissioner President, Candice Quinn Kelly
• Charles County Commissioner Vice President, Reuben B. Collins II
• Charles County Commissioner, Debra Davis
• Charles County Commissioner, Ken Robinson
• Town of Indian Head Mayor, Dennis J. Scheessele
• Town of Indian Vice-Mayor Head, Edward W. Rice
• Charles County Sheriff, Rex Coffey
• Tri-County Council for Southern Maryland Executive Director, John Hartline

North Bethesda pit stop
• Montgomery County Councilmember, Nancy Floreen
• Montgomery County Councilmember, Roger Berliner
• National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board member, David Meyer

Rockville Fallsgrove pit stop
• Rockville Mayor, Bridget Donnell Newton
• City of Rockville Councilmember, Julie Palakovich Carr

Rockville Town Center pit stop
• City of Rockville Mayor, Bridget Donnell Newton
• City of Rockville Councilmember, Julie Palakovich Carr
• Montgomery County Councilmember, Nancy Floreen

Takoma Park Downtown/Old Takoma pit stop
• City of Takoma Park Mayor, Bruce Williams
• City of Takoma Park Councilmember, Seth Grimes
• City of Takoma Park Councilmember, Jarrett Smith


Alexandria Carlyle pit stop
• City of Alexandria Mayor, William Euille

Alexandria Old Town/Market Square pit stop
• City of Alexandria Mayor, William Euille
• City of Alexandria Councilman, Timothy Lovain
• City of Alexandria Councilman, Justin Wilson

Arlington Rosslyn pit stop
• Arlington County Board Member, Walter Tejada

Fairfax City Downtown pit stop
• City of Fairfax Councilmember, Ellie Schmidt
• City of Fairfax Councilmember, Dan Drummond
• Virginia House of Delegates, David Bulova

Falls Church City pit stop
• City of Falls Church Mayor, David Tarter
• City of Falls Church Council Member, Marybeth Connelly
• City of Falls Church Council Member, Phil Duncan

McLean pit stop
• Fairfax County Board of Supervisors Dranesville District, John Foust
• Virginia Senator District 31, Barbara Favola

Reston/Wiehle-Reston East Metrorail Station pit stop
• Fairfax County Board of Supervisors Hunter Mill District, Cathy Hudgins
• Fairfax County School Board Hunter Mill District, Patricia Hynes
• Virginia House of Delegates District 36, Ken Plum
• Reston Association Board of Directors President, Ken Knueven

Novice and experienced cyclists can find resources, register, and locate their local pit stops at www.biketoworkmetrodc.org.   Bike to Work Day is a rain or shine event.  Due to the forecast inclement weather, cyclists are encouraged to be safe on the road and learn about bike safety. To learn about smart cycling in poor weather, please visit the Washington Area Bicyclist Association’s website.


Release Date: May 15, 2014

MWCOG.org - Homepage | Search | Transportation | Environment
Health & Human Services | Housing & Planning | Homeland Security & Public Safety
Cooperative Purchasing | Publications | Events Calendar
Committee Business | News Room | About COG | Doing Business With COG
Human Resources | Contact Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Accommodations Policy

777 North Capitol Street, NE • Suite 300 • Washington, DC 20002
Phone: 202.962.3200 • Fax: 202.962.3201


Press Releases
News Highlights
COG's Metropolitan Memo Newsletter
Social Media, Blogs, Video, and Podcasts
Contact Us