About COGDoing Business with COGHuman ResourcesContact UsSite Map
May 22, 2019
Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
Housing & Planning
Health & Human Services
Homeland Security & Public Safety
Cooperative Purchasing
Information & Publications
Events Calendar
Committee Business
News Room
News Room

COG Installs 2004 Corporate Officers

At its Annual Meeting held in December at the National Press Club, the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG) announced Corporate Officers for 2004. Robert Dorsey, a member of the Rockville City Council will serve as president; Penelope Gross, Fairfax County Board of Supervisors, and Kelvin Robinson, chief of staff for the District of Columbia, are vice presidents; and Michael Knapp from the Montgomery County Council is secretary/treasurer. 

Robert Dorsey has served as COG’s president pro tem since September, following John Koskinen’s departure from his post as deputy mayor and city administrator for the District of Columbia. Dorsey, in his fifth term as a Rockville council member, was named COG’s vice president in January 2003.

Penelope Gross is a member of the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors. Appointed COG secretary-treasurer in 2003, she chairs COG’s newly reorganized Public Safety Policy Committee and the Water Supply Task Force. In 1998, Gross founded the Chesapeake Bay Policy Committee, of which she continues to be an active member. She also headed the COG Board subcommittee responsible for revamping the executive director’s performance evaluation process.

Kelvin J. Robinson is a seasoned public servant with more than 15 years of service, having held various senior-level positions within state and local government in Florida before joining the D.C. government.

Michael Knapp was elected to the Montgomery County Council in 2002, representing the western areas of Montgomery County, including the communities of Olney, Germantown, Montgomery Village, and Poolesville. He serves on COG’s National Capital Region Emergency Preparedness Council.

COG members also nominated officers for the Board of Directors: District of Columbia Council Member Phil Mendelson for Board Chair, Greenbelt Mayor Judith (“J”) Davis and Arlington Council Member G.N. Fisette were nominated for vice chairs. COG’s full Board will vote on the slate of officers at the January meeting.


Release Date: Dec 11, 2003

MWCOG.org - Homepage | Search | Transportation | Environment
Health & Human Services | Housing & Planning | Homeland Security & Public Safety
Cooperative Purchasing | Publications | Events Calendar
Committee Business | News Room | About COG | Doing Business With COG
Human Resources | Contact Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Accommodations Policy

777 North Capitol Street, NE • Suite 300 • Washington, DC 20002
Phone: 202.962.3200 • Fax: 202.962.3201


Press Releases
News Highlights
COG's Metropolitan Memo Newsletter
Social Media, Blogs, Video, and Podcasts
Contact Us