About COGDoing Business with COGHuman ResourcesContact UsSite Map
September 23, 2019
Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
Housing & Planning
Health & Human Services
Homeland Security & Public Safety
Cooperative Purchasing
Information & Publications
Events Calendar
Committee Business
News Room
News Room

Fisette, Williams and Knapp to Lead COG Board of Directors in 2006

FisetteCOG today elected Arlington County Chair Jay Fisette to head its Board of Directors. District of Columbia Mayor Anthony A. Williams and Montgomery County Council Member Michael Knapp will serve as vice chairs.

Jay Fisette has served on the Arlington County Board since 1997. During his time at COG, he has worked on the Metropolitan Development Policy Committee and the National Capital Region Emergency Preparedness Council. He is also a member of the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission and vice president of the Executive Committee of the Virginia Municipal League.

Anthony A. Williams is in his second term as Mayor of the District of Columbia. He first assumed an active role as COG Board Vice Chair in 2005. Michael Knapp has been an active member of COG since his election to the Montgomery County Council in 2002. He has served on the Transportation Planning Board housed at COG, which he will also chair in 2006.

"I really look forward to working with the vice chairs as COG remains at the forefront of regional issues," Fisette said.

The Board also appointed chairs to oversee several policy committees. They are: Frederick County Commissioner John R. Lovell, Chesapeake Bay Policy Committee; Alexandria Council Member K. Rob Krupicka, Committee on Noise Abatement and Aviation at National and Dulles Airports; District of Columbia Council Member Vincent C. Gray, Human Services Policy Committee; District of Columbia Deputy Mayor for Public Safety and Justice Ed Reiskin, Public Safety Policy Committee; Fairfax County Supervisor Sharon Bulova, Metropolitan Development Policy Committee.

The board also appointed Fairfax County Chair Gerald E. Connolly to chair the National Capital Region Emergency Preparedness Council.


Release Date: Jan 11, 2006

MWCOG.org - Homepage | Search | Transportation | Environment
Health & Human Services | Housing & Planning | Homeland Security & Public Safety
Cooperative Purchasing | Publications | Events Calendar
Committee Business | News Room | About COG | Doing Business With COG
Human Resources | Contact Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Accommodations Policy

777 North Capitol Street, NE • Suite 300 • Washington, DC 20002
Phone: 202.962.3200 • Fax: 202.962.3201


Press Releases
News Highlights
COG's Metropolitan Memo Newsletter
Social Media, Blogs, Video, and Podcasts
Contact Us