About COGDoing Business with COGHuman ResourcesContact UsSite Map
September 17, 2019
Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
Housing & Planning
Health & Human Services
Homeland Security & Public Safety
Cooperative Purchasing
Information & Publications
Events Calendar
Committee Business
News Room
News Room

D.C. Mayor Anthony Williams Honored as Regional Leader of the Year

At this year’s Annual Meeting, the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG) honored D.C. Mayor Anthony Williams for his leadership and dedication to regionalism.

Williams received COG’s 2006 Elizabeth and David Scull Award for his dedication to several of the region's greatest needs, such as funding for Metro, the Anacostia watershed and Chesapeake Bay, and air quality.

"The Mayor has shown his sincere dedication to many issues that are of regional concern, and has gone above the call of duty numerous times," Carol Schwartz, COG President and D.C. Council Member, said. "It was with great pleasure that I presented this well deserved award to my friend Tony Williams."

Williams was noted for his work with the governors of Maryland and Virginia to address needs of the National Capital Region, as well as his work as chair of the Chesapeake Executive Council from 2004 to 2006, when he lobbied for Congressional support of efforts to restore the Anacostia and Chesapeake Bay. He was also noted for his efforts to promote the region as a tourist destination.

The Washington Area Bicyclist Association (WABA) received COG’s Regional Partnership Award for its dedication to helping create a healthy, more livable region by promoting bicycling. WABA has partnered with COG's Commuter Connections Program to sponsor Bike to Work Day for several years. In May, the event was the most successful to date with more than 6,000 commuters participating to show their support for biking as an environmentally-friendly way to get to work.

The COG Board appointed corporate officers for leadership in 2007. Jacqueline F. Brown, Ph.D., Prince Georges County Chief Administrative Officer, was elected President. Redella S. Pepper, City of Alexandria Council Member, and Adrian Fenty, D.C. Mayor-elect will serve as Vice Presidents and Hilda M. Barg, Prince William County Supervisor, will serve as Secretary-Treasurer.



Release Date: Dec 13, 2006
Contact: Heather Mueller
Phone: 202.962.3756

MWCOG.org - Homepage | Search | Transportation | Environment
Health & Human Services | Housing & Planning | Homeland Security & Public Safety
Cooperative Purchasing | Publications | Events Calendar
Committee Business | News Room | About COG | Doing Business With COG
Human Resources | Contact Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Accommodations Policy

777 North Capitol Street, NE • Suite 300 • Washington, DC 20002
Phone: 202.962.3200 • Fax: 202.962.3201


Press Releases
News Highlights
COG's Metropolitan Memo Newsletter
Social Media, Blogs, Video, and Podcasts
Contact Us