About COGDoing Business with COGHuman ResourcesContact UsSite Map
September 23, 2019
Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
Housing & Planning
Health & Human Services
Homeland Security & Public Safety
Cooperative Purchasing
Information & Publications
Events Calendar
Committee Business
News Room
News Room

Gray, Knapp and Gross to Lead COG Board of Directors in 2007

The Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments (COG) yesterday elected District of Columbia Council Chairman Vincent C. Gray to head its Board of Directors. Montgomery County Council Member Michael Knapp and Fairfax County Supervisor Penelope A. Gross will serve as vice chairs.

Gray has served on the D.C. Council since 2005, and was elected chairman for 2007. As chair of COG's Human Services Policy Committee, he worked on regional issues such as predatory lending, day laborers and foster care.

"I have enjoyed participating in COG over the past year through my involvement with the Human Services Policy Committee, and it has been great to have the opportunity to work with my colleagues throughout the region," Gray said. "I have seen what a rich experience this can be, and would like to thank Penny and Mike for their willingness to work with me over the next year."

Michael Knapp has been an active member of COG since his election to the Montgomery County Council in 2002. In 2006, he served as chair of the Transportation Planning Board (TPB) housed at COG.

"Our collaboration through COG and the TPB has already led to so many great solutions to new challenges, such as a plan to improve pedestrian safety and a program to help communities coordinate transportation and development plans," Knapp said. "Our involvement on regional issues is a never-ending process as the region continues to grow, and I look forward to another great year of collaboration through the Board."

Penelope Gross has served on the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors since 1996. She has served as chair of COG's Chesapeake Bay Policy Committee, Water Supply Task Force and Public Safety Policy Committee.

"It has been gratifying and educational to work at the ground level of so many different programs and policy-building efforts that benefit the entire area," Gross said. "Serving as vice chair will provide a significant opportunity to build upon our previous achievements and tackle even more of the issues of concern to this changing metropolitan region."

The Board also appointed chairs to oversee several policy committees. They are: Prince William County Supervisor Martin Nohe, Chesapeake Bay Policy Committee; Montgomery County Council Member George Leventhal, Human Services Policy Committee; Takoma Park Council Member Terry Seamens, Public Safety Policy Committee; Prince George's County Council Member Thomas Dernoga, Metropolitan Development Policy Committee. Fairfax County Board of Supervisors Chair Gerald E. Connolly was reappointed to chair the National Capital Region Emergency Preparedness Council and Alexandria Council Member Rob Krupicka was reappointed to chair the Aviation Policy Committee.


Release Date: Jan 10, 2007

MWCOG.org - Homepage | Search | Transportation | Environment
Health & Human Services | Housing & Planning | Homeland Security & Public Safety
Cooperative Purchasing | Publications | Events Calendar
Committee Business | News Room | About COG | Doing Business With COG
Human Resources | Contact Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Accommodations Policy

777 North Capitol Street, NE • Suite 300 • Washington, DC 20002
Phone: 202.962.3200 • Fax: 202.962.3201


Press Releases
News Highlights
COG's Metropolitan Memo Newsletter
Social Media, Blogs, Video, and Podcasts
Contact Us