About COGDoing Business with COGHuman ResourcesContact UsSite Map
August 24, 2019
Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments
Housing & Planning
Health & Human Services
Homeland Security & Public Safety
Cooperative Purchasing
Information & Publications
Events Calendar
Committee Business
News Room
Homeland Security & Public Safety
Home > Homeland Security & Public Safety > Homeland Security > Task Force

Task Force

The Task Force on Homeland Security and Emergency Response for the National Capital Area met from October 2001 thorugh December 2002. The members of the Task Force included elected officials in the region, members of the Board of Trade, and Federal officials. See the background sheet for more information.

The Task Force structure included five subgroups in the areas of transportation, public safety, health, energy and water, and solid waste. Communication was a sixth area of study which involves all subgroups. Each subgroup developed regional emergency support function (RESF) frameworks for the Regional Emergency Coordination PlanSM. The table below illustrates the relationship between the subgroups and the RESFs.

The subgroups began their work by creating draft recommendations, which the Task Force presented at the December 2001 COG Annual Meeting. Visit the program history page to view the recommendations and other Task Force documents.

Task Force Working Groups
Working Group Regional Emergency Support Functions (RESFs) Group Chair(s)
Transportation #1 Transportation Hon. David Snyder
Falls Church City Council
Public Safety & Emergency Management #2 Communications Infrastructure, #4 Firefighting, #9 Urban Search & Rescue, #10 HazMat, #13 Law Enforcement Hon. M.H. Jim Estepp
Prince George's County Council
Water & Energy Infrastructure #3 Public Works & Engineering - Water & Wastewater, #12 Energy Tony Griffin
County Executive, Fairfax County
Waste & Debris Management 3 Public Works & Engineering - Waste & Debris Management Hon. Mary K. Hill
Prince William County Board of Supervisors
Health #8 Health & Medical Hon. G.N. Jay Fisette
Member, Arlington County Board
Hon. Adrian Fenty
Council of the District of Columbia
Communications #14 Media & Community Relations Hon. Gerald Connolly
Fairfax County Board of Supervisors
Hon. Robert Dorsey
Rockville City Council
Other Areas #5 Information & Planning, #7 Resources Tony Griffin
County Executive, Fairfax County

MWCOG.org - Homepage | Search | Transportation | Environment
Health & Human Services | Housing & Planning | Homeland Security & Public Safety
Cooperative Purchasing | Publications | Events Calendar
Committee Business | News Room | About COG | Doing Business With COG
Human Resources | Contact Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Accommodations Policy

777 North Capitol Street, NE • Suite 300 • Washington, DC 20002
Phone: 202.962.3200 • Fax: 202.962.3201


Program History
Bioevent Guidance Document
Small Business Continuity Planning
Links to Area Resources
COG Meetings
Regional Events